Putnam probate


Putnam, Windham County,

Town established in May 1855,

Parent Towns: Killingly, Pomfret, and Thompson

The Putnam Probate District was constituted July 5, 1856, from the Thompson Probate District.  The Putnam Probate District merged on January 5, 2011 with the Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford (part), Pomfret, Thompson, and Woodstock Probate Districts to create the Northeast Probate District.  The Northeast Probate District serves the municipalities of Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Putnam, Thompson, and Woodstock.

Town of Putnam, Probate District chronology:   

May 1855 – July 4, 1856, Thompson District

July 5,  1856 – January 4, 2011, Putnam District

January 5, 2011 – Present,  Northeast District

The Connecticut State Library does not hold any original records from the Putnam Probate District. It does have microfilmed copies of record books, 1856-1920.

For Probate Court contact information and hours of operation see, Probate Court Directory