Griswold probate


Griswold, Hartford County,

Town established in October 1815,

Parent Town: Preston

The Griswold Probate District was constituted January 3, 1979, from the Norwich Probate District.  The Griswold Probate District merged with the Bozrah and Norwich Probate Districts on January 5, 2011 to create an enlarged Norwich Probate District which serves the municipalities of Bozrah, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Sprague, and Voluntown.


Town of Griswold, Probate District chronology:

October 1815 – January 2, 1979, Norwich District

January 3, 1979 – January 4, 2011, Griswold District   

January 5, 2011 – Present, Norwich District

The Connecticut State Library does not hold any original records from the Griswold Probate District.

For Probate Court contact information and hours of operation see, Probate Court Directory