Goshen probate


Goshen, Litchfield County,

Town established in October 1739

The Torrington Probate District was constituted June 16, 1847, from the Litchfield Probate District and began processing probate matters for the Town of Goshen in May 1895.  The Torrington Probate District merged with the New Hartford and Winchester Probate Districts on January 5, 2011 to create the Torrington Area Probate District which serves the municipalities of Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Goshen, Hartland, New Hartford, Torrington, and Winchester.


Town of Goshen, Probate District chronology:

October 1739 – October 1742, Hartford District

October 1742 – May 1895, Litchfield District

May 1895 – January 4, 2011, Torrington District

January 5, 2011 – Present, Torrington Area District


For Probate Court contact information and hours of operation see, Probate Court Directory