Colebrook probate


Colebrook, Litchfield County,

Town established in October 1779

The Winchester Probate District was constituted on May 31, 1838 from the Norfolk Probate District and processed probate matters for the Town of Colebrook from that time.  The Winchester Probate District merged with the New Hartford and Torrington Probate Districts on January 5, 2011 to create the Torrington Area Probate District which serves the municipalities of Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Goshen, Hartland, New Hartford, Torrington, and Winchester.

Town of Colebrook, Probate District chronology:

May 1773 – May 1769, Hartford District

May 1769 – May 1779, Simsbury District
May 1779 – May 30, 1838, Norfolk District

May 31, 1838 – January 4, 2011, Winchester District

January 5, 2011 – Present, Torrington Area District

For Probate Court contact information and hours of operation see, Probate Court Directory