Bridgewater probate


Bridgewater, Litchfield County,

Town established in May 1856,

Parent Town: New Milford


The New Milford Probate District was constituted May 1787 from the Danbury, Sharon, and Woodbury Probate Districts and processed probate matters for the Town of Bridgewater from its incorporation. The New Milford Probate District merged with the Brookfield and New Fairfield Probate Districts on January 5, 2011 to create the Housatonic Probate District which serves the municipalities of Bridgewater, Brookfield, New Fairfield, New Milford, and Sherman.


Town of Bridgewater, Probate District chronology:

May 1856 – January 4, 2011, New Milford District

January 5, 2011 – Present, Housatonic Probate District

For Probate Court contact information and hours of operation see, Probate Court Directory