Branford probate


Branford, New Haven County,

Town established in October 1685


The Branford Probate District was constituted June 21, 1850 from the Guilford Probate District. The Branford Probate District merged with the North Branford Probate District on January 5, 2011 to create the Branford – North Branford Probate District which serves the municipalities of Branford and North Branford.


Town of Branford, Probate District chronology:

1685 – October 1719, New Haven District

October 1719 – June 20, 1850, Guilford District

May 1776- May 1831, Wallingford District (covered Northford Society only until it became part of North Branford)

June 21, 1850 – January 4, 2011, Branford District

January 5, 2011 – Present, Branford – North Branford District

The Connecticut State Library does not hold any original records from the Branford Probate District. It does have microfilmed copies of record books, 1850-1917.

For Probate Court contact information and hours of operation see, Probate Court Directory