Databases of Individuals listed in State Archives Records

The State Archives houses over 42,000 cubic feet of records documenting the history of Connecticut and its people. These collections range from small manuscript materials (a diary, letter, or scrapbook) to large collections containing hundreds of boxes and volumes.

The State Archives staff makes these records available by creating guides to collections. These guides (or finding aids) provide a brief history of the records creator, a description of the materials (scope and content note), any restrictions, related sources, and container lists. In addition, the Archives staff identifies records that contain information that warrant an item level inventory. In these cases, databases are created so that the information can be easily retrieved.

To make these databases more readily available to the public, the State Archives has started to make them available on the web. Please click on any of the currently available databases listed below to learn more about the records on which they are based and to search each database.

Researcher Note:
While the information contained in these databases represents a good starting point, in many cases, the researcher should visit the State Library to examine the original records. The records referenced in these databases are in the State Archives, and are only available for examination at the Archives/Secured Collections Research Area (ARA) in the History and Genealogy Unit. Please see the History & Genealogy Access Archives and Secured Collections guide for procedures.

The following databases are available:
     • Court Records
         o Litchfield County Minorities Collection
         o New London County African Americans Collection
         o New London County Native Americans Collection
    • Fitch’s Home for Soldiers Database
           Records relating to Civil War and Spanish American War Veterans
    • Noble Pension Database
          Records relating to Civil War and Spanish American War Veterans
    • World War I Veterans Database
         Records relating to Connecticut World War I veterans
    • Wethersfield Prison Records
         Records relating to prisoners at the Wethersfield State Prison, 1800-1903